Feedback on Composition

Having shown pretty much what I have in the last two posts on my composition to James I got the following feedback. (Each student was given 7 minutes for feedback)

  1. Think about changing the instruments in the music notation software playback to make it sound nicer/easier to listen too.
  2. Think about tension and release. An example of where this is not fully developed is in the end of the “opening” section so far where the course slowly unwinds and resolves somewhat in a place that doesn’t make a whole lot of sense.

Reflecting on this feedback I can see that I know where I am going with the sound and atmosphere I want to create, and I know the musical theory behind creating the types of chords and voicings I need. However the innate need to resolve chords is challenging me. I guess I’ve sung too much Bach over the years. To help combat this I have listened to a lot more of Eric Whitacre’s work as well as taking notes of moments of beautiful dissonance in pieces I am currently singing, like Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms and Mealor’s Ubi Caritas.

Check out my spotify playlist of inspirational music for this assignment.

One thought on “Feedback on Composition

  1. Pingback: The Big Question- Am I a composer now? | ambermaree music

Leave a Reply

