Composition in progress – Musical fragments

After getting a little stuck after the first 18 bars of my composition I switched tactics to finding sounds and melodies I liked for different lyrics from the poem. I feel like a repetition of the lyrics “The Rose” could be a high point in the piece and a little melody popped into my head. After working it out on the piano and putting it in D major I transferred it to my score.

I then copy and pasted that melody to the tenor line and made it like a canon. I liked that sound but felt it needed more filling out so I did that same thing into the alto section and then varied the notes so it wasn’t a strict canon. I really love the effect of vocal canons, the voices weaving in and out of unison/harmony and dissonance. I will definitely explore this technique further.

Anyway here is the little motif, perhaps something like this will make it into my composition.

Rose Refrain Idea 1 17-10.png

Leave a Reply

